Science & Innovation Governance - Institute on Governance

Science & Innovation Governance

Embracing science and innovation means leading through disruption.

Science and innovation are more important at the highest levels of government than ever before, and are increasingly fundamental to good governance across sectors.

Our S&I experts are working to equip public servants with the innovative tools they’ll need to lead and manage in a context of accelerating, disruptive change.

This can mean:

  • Working to engage a scientific community to mobilize scientific knowledge for public policy and mission purposes
  • Employing foresight and seizing new technological opportunities as they arise
  • Championing evidence-based decision making

Science and innovation partnered with good governance is how public service leaders will distinguish themselves in an increasingly disrupted landscape – now and in the years to come.

Leadership Development Program in Science and Innovation

The Leadership Development Program in Science and Innovation (LDPSI) is an intensive program for those who work in and across science, innovation, and policy.

It is also for those who aspire to lead in these areas. Participants study the cultures of science, innovation and policy – where they intersect, how they work together, how they influence Canadian society, and how individuals can have impact and achieve results.

“This course provided me with the space to think about my career journey and path forward, open my perspective on how to be more strategic and to look at issues with a different lens.” 

– LDPSI Alumni

“I’m excited to learn about myself and continue to develop my skills. The IOG staff have done a great job of inspiring me!”

– LDPSI Alumni

Government Science and Innovation in the New Normal

A multi-year, collaborative research initiative designed to support medium-term planning for the federal science and innovation departments and agencies, and provide an in-depth examination of the evolving relationship among science, innovation and society.

Learn about some of our other work

GSINN Hindsight Report

Between December 2020 and March 2021, the IOG conducted a

Learn More
The Present and Future State of Synthetic Biology in Canada

1 minute read The synthetic biology community convened on March 6-7,

Learn More

Canada’s leading science and innovation team

IOG is Canada’s only think tank with science and innovation governance as a focused practice area. We are committed to helping public sector leaders who need to move the needle on science and innovation policy do so in a way that maximizes benefit to citizens and society.


Jeff Kinder

Executive Director, Science and Innovation

Expertise: Science and Innovation  Degree(s): PhD Public Policy; MA Science, Technology and Public Policy; BS Physics  Jeff has over 30 years’ experience in government science, technology and innovation policy in the US and Canada. His US experience includes the National Science Foundation, the National Academies and the Naval Research Laboratory.  In Canada, Jeff has worked at Industry Canada, Natural Resources […]

Rhonda Moore

Senior Practice Lead, Science & Innovation

Expertise: science and innovation, science communications, facilitation  Degree(s): Bachelor of Public Relations (BPR), Mount Saint Vincent University, Masters in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies (MSc), University of Edinburgh  For almost 20 years, Rhonda Moore has worked at the intersection of communications, research, and policy analysis and development. At that intersection, Rhonda has sought out opportunities to build relationships, to […]

Karen Dodds

Associate, Faculty

Karen Dodds retired in 2016 after a 32-year career in the public service. She built on her basic background in science research, developing expertise in regulation, legislation, operations, and policy. Karen retired as Assistant Deputy Minister, Science & Technology Branch, Environment and Climate Change Canada. That branch was responsible for research and monitoring in the […]

Paul Mayers


Paul has more than 18 years of experience in as an executive leading program design and delivery, risk management and policy development. This includes over 6 years as Vice President, Policy and Program and of the Science Branch at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA). In addition to his executive leadership within Canada, Paul has […]

Geoff Munro

Associate, Faculty

Geoff Munro was the Chief Scientist of NRCan (retired Dec 2013) and in this capacity advanced the work of the departmental Science and Technology Board and helped to drive the corporate priority of “Mobilizing our Science & Technology”. Mr. Munro was first appointed Chief Scientist at NRCan in 2007 and carried out this role while […]

Wendy Watson-Wright


Wendy Watson-Wright has been an ocean science policy professional for most of her career.   She retired in December 2019 as the inaugural CEO of the Atlantic Canadian-led Ocean Frontier Institute (OFI).  Prior to that she served as the first female Executive Secretary and Assistant Director General of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC-UNESCO) in Paris from […]