Sophie Pierre

Former Chief Commissioner, BC Treaty Commission

Sophie Pierre is former Chief Commissioner of the BC Treaty Commission. She was appointed chief commissioner in April 2009 by agreement of the governments of Canada and British Columbia and the First Nations Summit, a mandate that lasted until 2015. Pierre served the St. Mary’s Indian Band for 30 years, 26 as elected chief, and was the administrator of the Ktunaxa/Kinbasket Tribal Council for 25 years. She also served as the tribal chair of the Ktunaxa Nation Council, chairperson of the First Nations Finance Authority, president of St. Eugene Mission Holdings Ltd. and co-chair of the International Advisory Committee to the Indigenous Nations Institute for Leadership, Management, and Policy for the University o f Arizona.

Pierre was involved in the work of the British Columbia Claims Task Force and served as a co-chair of the First Nations Summit. She has also served on several boards and committees, including the Environmental and Aboriginal Relations Committee of the BC Hydro & Power Authority and the First Nations Congress. Pierre was recognized with the Order of British Columbia in 2002 and the National Aboriginal Achievement Award in the business category in 2003. During her tenure as chief commissioner, Sophie Pierre was awarded two honorary Doctorates of Law—in 2010 from the University of Canada West and in 2012 from the University of British Columbia.

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Twitter

Quick Links

Connect With Us