The IOG honours Chrétien, Romanow and McMurtry at 2012 Modern Makers Awards Dinner

The 2012 Modern Makers of Canada.

The 2012 Modern Makers of Canada.

The Institute on Governance was pleased to host its 2nd Annual Modern Makers Awards on Monday, December 11th, 2012. The event, co-hosted by Bernard Lord and Anne McLellan, honored the Honourable Jean Chrétien, the Honourable Roy Romanow and the Honourable Roy McMurtry for their key roles in the patriation of the Constitutions and development of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. In a panel moderated by Carleton University’s Chris Waddell, the three men candidly spoke about the process of patriation, as if it happened yesterday, and not thirty years ago. Chrétien, Romanow and McMurtry were entertaining and enlightening about a key period in Canada’s history.

The achievement of our three honourees in November, 1981, reflected the understanding that governance needs constant adaptation and renewal to reflect economic, social and political realities and events. It is also a tribute that three politicians of different stripes and different jurisdictions could get together to help shape one of the significant building blocks of modern Canada.

The Canada we know today has been shaped by the interaction of its people, its leaders, and its governing institutions over the past 143 years. This evolution continues as Canadians in all walks of life strive to make Canada’s economy and society innovative and dynamic.

This evolution was achieved because Canada was built upon solid democratic and public sector institutions and practices that fostered good governance and accommodation. Good governance requires a process of constant adaptation, learning and renewal to evolving economic and social realities. The Modern Makers of Canada Award was established to recognize Canadians who have contributed to good governance through transformational public sector leadership.

The 2012 Recipients

  • The Right Honourable Jean Chrétien left office as Prime Minister of Canada in December 2003 after ten years in office. During his career as the MP for Shawinigan, he held 13 portfolios, including one as Deputy Prime Minister. He is a Companion of the Order of Canada and was awarded the Order of Merit by Her Majesty Elizabeth II in 2009.  At the time of the “kitchen accord”, he was the Minister Responsible for Constitutional Negotiations.
  • As Premier of Saskatchewan for ten years, the Honourable Roy Romanow balanced the provincial budget, made major reforms to health care, and diversified the provincial economy.  After his retirement, he headed the Royal Commission on the Future of Health Care in Canada.  This Commission, which reported in 2002, recommended sweeping changes to ensure the long-term sustainability of Canada’s health care system. He was the deputy premier of the province during the constitutional discussions.
  • The Honourable Roy McMurtry’s most recent job was as Chief Justice of Ontario, which he left in 2007. Among other accomplishments, he was High Commissioner to Great Britain and before that Attorney General of Ontario under Premier Bill Davis. There he oversaw reforms to Ontario’s justice system including bilingualism in the courts, multiculturalism and family law reform. He was Solicitor General for Ontario during the time of the Constitutional negotiations.

The Award 

The Modern Makers of Canada Award has been established by the Institute on Governance to recognize a significant contribution in shaping and modernizing Canada into the 21st century made to public sector governance in Canada.

Lear more about the 2011 Modern Makers Award ceremony here.


This blog is available in English only.


Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Twitter

Quick Links

Connect With Us